Is Your Facility OSHA Compliant for 2020?

The United States Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) is an agency of the United States Department of Labor. Its mission is to prevent work-related injuries, illnesses, and occupational fatality by issuing and enforcing standards for workplace safety and health. Since OSHA was created in 1971, work-related deaths have decreased by 62% and work-related injuries have decreased by 42%.

OSHA federal regulations cover most private sector workplaces. The OSH Act permits states to develop approved plans as long as they cover public sector employees and they provide protection equivalent to that provided under Federal OSHA regulations.

OSHA standards are set forth in Title 29 of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). The most widely-folllowed OSHA regulations can be found in Parts 1904, 1910 and 1926. OSHA non-compliance with these standards can result in fines up to $70,000, depending on the severity of the violation in terms of potential harm to workers.

OSHA standards are divided into five major industry categories:

OSHA Forms 300, 300A, 301

OSHA Form 300 is used to classify work injuries and illnesses and to note the extent and severity of each case. When an incident occurs, Form 300 is used the to record specific details about what happened and how it happened. Click here for a PDF version of OSHA Form 300.

Form 300: Log of Work-Related Injuries and Illnesses

There are three main sections to OSHA Form 300 for incident reporting:

1. Identify the person (name, title)
2. Describe the case (date, where occurred, description)
3. Classify the case (injury severity, duration of injury)

Form 300A: Summary of Work-Related Injuries and Illnesses

All businesses covered by 29 CFR Part 1904 must complete OSHA Form 300A, even if no work-related injuries or illnesses occurred during the year. The three main sections of Form 300A include:

1. Number of cases
2. Number of days
3. Injury and illness types.

OHSA Training

OSHA training courses fall under four major categories:

OSHSA General Industry Training

10-Hour Course
30-Hour Course
501 Course

OSHSA Construction Industry Training

10-Hour Course
30-Hour Course
500 Course

OSHA Hazardous Waste HAZWOPER Training


OSHA Trainer Training

OSHA 500 (Prereq: 510 course + 5 years exp)
OSHA 501 (Prereq: 511 course + 5 years exp)